The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper quot During last year s election only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted whereas inthe nearby affluent town of Chiswick that number was 75 percent In a recent survey ofyoung ad

The claim that participation in social media is the major cause for the increased number of people who take part in voting during elections is not logically well-reasoned. There are several facets to be studied before drawing the conclusion. Several loopholes are present in the arugments presented by the author.

The number of people who vote in elections is not only determined merely by the number of young people in the town. The author does not mention about the number of people of other age group. The reader does not know if there is greater number of older people who take part in voting in Chiswick. The statistics of all the eligible age group of people should have been presented in the argument to prove that young people contribute most the number of voters.

One of the assertions made is that the people who involce regarlar in social media and make themselves updated about the political and socail issues are the ones who consider participating in voting. But, this assertion is not well-established. Those who are aware of the political situation does not imply that they certainly vote. Although they are updated on the social issues, they might not be interested in voting. Some people like to read news just as a hobby. More survey results must be presented to show that they are the ones who surely vote in elections.

Young adults who use social media at least once a day might might be using the media for getiing political information and news. They might be using it for chatting and getting other information. More detials should be provided to show that those people use social media for getting political knowledge.

Another important point to be noted is the credibility and quality of the survey conducted among young people. The article fails to present whether the survey was conducted among the representative group of young adults or a restricted group. The article mentions that the survey was conducted recently, but "recent" does not indicate the specific point of time. Therefore, more details regarding the survey conducted should be provided in the article to prove the validity of the survey.

In conclusion, the argument is weak to prove that people participating in social media are the ones who certainly vote, which eventually adds up to the increase in the total number of voters in that area. Other statistics must be presented to show prove the author's conclusion.