CLAIM Young people s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills REASON These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than ful

The claim that youths are inclined towards excessive use of electronic devices which has deprived them from face to face social engagement. It seem logical that the vast use of portable devices has hindered the social development. If we analyze it deeply, there are certain aspects supporting social interaction by the use of these devices.

The main assertion of the claim is that young people are not able to develop sufficient social skills. The reason for this claim is that people are coming up with artificial identities in the virtual media that hinder absolute interaction with real people. However, this controversy lies within the reason stated. People are engaging in social media like Facebook and Twitter through comments, posts and messages. This has helped people residing at different corners of the world interact with each other. People put their view on their topic of interest-be it educational, political or any other. For instace, I am able to make a good realtionship with a professor of a University in another country with the help of email. Rather than reducing the social interaction, these portable devices has helped us cooperate and progress for the mutual benefit. People have developed interacting and networking skills using these technologies. If these were not there, people would not be able to know what is going on around the world. Thus, the electronic devices has helped boost social engagement.

On the other hand, the author is worried that people are not interacting with people around them honestly. This statement is also a veracious claim in the sense that young people are spending more and more time in the portable devices. The mobiles devices today have a vast store of applications where youths can spend their most of the time engaging with them. There are games, social media, educational platforms, news portals and many other ways in which youths can keep them busy with these devices. This trend has led to a dwindled time for their family members. All the time they are busy scrolling down the timeline of a social media and getting updates, commenting and posting. It is reasonable to think that their engagement with people wround them is restricted.

Another important aspect that author wants to focus is the honesty of these young people. The vitual interaction in the electroniv devices is not always real. There are a number of fake people pretending to be some one, not interacting honestly. People do not always show their real life/face in the social media, which is a fallacious aspect of these devices.

In conclusion, there are both good and bad aspects of the using a portable device like smartphone and tablets. It is in the hand of the user to use it the way he wants. As the author states that there is less soacial interaction with people around them, the youths might have to dedicate their time on spending time with their nearest ones as well, which will eventually help them gain social skills.