The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants claims that it is okay to replace butter to margarine and presents several reasons that seems to uphold the claim. However, the memorandum is rife with holes and assumptions and such flaws should be eliminated in order for the business manager to fully maintain his/her claim. Such mistakes will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the business manager reasons that there have been only 2 percent of complaints after the alteration had been made throughout the restaurants placed in southwestern United States. However, having few complaints does not always indicate that the customers who did not complain are satisfied with the change. Maybe they simply decided not to come to the restaurant anymore without mentioning about how unsatisfied they were with the change, which does not make it okay to replace the butter to margarine. The business manager should also needs to clarify how long it has been since the alteration had been made. If only one or two days had passed after the replacement, there might not have been customers that came and went, and is not representative enough for other customers. Maybe as time goes by, more and more customers would notice the change and complain about it.

In addition, the author of the memorandum assumes that the customers does not distinguish the difference between butter and margarine because there were no complaints when the customers were given margarine instead of butter for their requests. However, it is a similar flaw as mentioned above. Maybe the customers did acknowledge the difference but simply had decided not to come to the restaurant anymore without complaining about it. It could also have been due to alterations being made only on certain menus. If this is the case, only a few customers who did not like to make complaints could have ordered those menus, which means they did distinguish the difference but just did not complain. Furthermore, maybe the customers who did not complain actually preferred margarine over butter and can actually distinguish the difference between butter and margarine.

To sum up, even though the business manager's claim and the evidences that bolster his/her claim might seem plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memorandum from various views, it is confirmed that his/her claim is unwarranted. For the business manager to effectively warrant his/her claim, he/she would have to eliminate the flaws of making implications, providing unclear information, and making haste assumptions.