The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the above memorandum, the author argues that in the happy Pancake Factories people either do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term “butter” interchangeably for both margarine and butter since when they do not complain when they were given margarine instead of butter. Furthermore, the author supports his claim based on the premise that throughout the South Western United States, very few people complained after they replaced butter with margarine. However, before evaluating the author’s argument two unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that after replacing butter with margarine throughout the restaurants in South Western United States only 2 per cent of people complain about the change since they can not differentiate between butter and margarine without any legitimate evidence. One may raise the question about the authenticity of the strategy of using circumstances from one thing to generalize and predict another. Maybe there are only 3 Happy Pancake restaurants throughout South Western United States and most of their restaurants are situated in Noth Eastern United States. Then one can not say that people can not distinguish between butter and margarine based on the very small sample size. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author does not provide any admissible evidence about the number of restaurants of Happy Pancake Company. If the author can provide more data perhaps in a form of a statistical data set regarding the total number of restaurants in each region throughout the United States then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author states that many servers reported that people do not complain after being given margarine upon asking to butter indicates that people use the term butter and margarine interchangeably without any proper evidence. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the server's report. Maybe most of the servers do not report correctly even though the customers complained about margarine. Even if this is not the case, maybe despite getting margarine instead of butter they did not complain but avoided visiting the restaurants in the future. In that case, the author’s argument holds no water. The author does not provide any genuine evidence regarding the customers' complaints and servers’ reports. The author has to offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a survey of each server's report to rectify his argument. Perhaps, most of the customers distinguish between butter and margarine and never came back to those restaurants instead of complaining.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to elucidate the two unstated assumptions above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that people can not distinguish margarine from butter or they use them butter for nboth butter and margarine.