The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Recently butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the south western United States This change however has had little impact

The author presents the memorandum of Happy Pancake House, and how the introduction of margarine has not had significant impact on the sales of the business. The conclusion devised by the author, though, is based on assumptions which makes it unreliable.

According to the author, customers accepted the new change brought about by Happy Pancake House. He mentions that only two percent of customers complained, meaning ninety eight percent were happy with the change. This fact is based on an assumption that all the customers who did not complain were happy with introduction of margarine. It may be that they had accepted the change even though they did not really like margarine. Or margarine with pancake tasted just as same as butter with pancake. There may be various other reasons that the customers did not complain about margarine on pancakes. It may be that they wanted some change to take place in the menu, after the monotonous menu presented by Happy Pancake House. Therefore, the conclusion is unreliable.

Additionally, the author also claims that the change has brought "little" impact on the sales of the business. Thus, author gives no definite numbers as to how much difference in sales is observed due to the change. The author should have presented the exact numbers to make the conclusion full proof, by giving information about when was the the survey conducted, how many customers were a part of the survey, what were the feedbacks given by the customers, what was the sales before the introduction of margarine and after the introduction of margarine, is the change only the result of introduction of margarine, what are other factors that have affected the sales. The author fails to answer these important questions which would have made the conclusion more solid.

Thus the conclusion fails to be reliable and the author must present a more detailed survey to give a solid conclusion.