The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former lever."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the author, he emphasizes the importance of restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in late-night programs. He justifies the reason by claiming that there have been complaints about the weather and local news and also the losing advertising revenue of the television station. However, the argument is based on certain unpersuasive and illogical assumptions.

Firstly, the author fails to provide pieces of evidence regarding what type of complaints have they received from the viewers regarding weather and local news. The author assumes that the complaints are only regarding not enough coverage of local and weather news. For instance, viewers might have complained that only some parts of the country are included in the weather report, what if some of the parts are not given weather updates of their locality? Also what if only 1000 to 2000 viewers are complaining about the weather and local news coverage? This number might seem huge at first but if the population of the country is in the millions then this number is not the right estimate to come to a conclusion.

Secondly, the author fails to give reasons for the cancellation of advertising contracts with local news businesses. He assumes the contracts are cancelled only because they do not get proper coverage but there might be other reasons for cancellation. For example, local businesses might have found other television stations with lesser costs to advertise, or they might have decided to invest more in hoardings and pamphlets rather than television advertisements, or they might be having financial constraints with their businesses which has resulted in cost-cutting. Therefore, if the author provides evidence with proper reasons for canceling then it may be posed as a valid argument.

Lastly, there is no evidence on how the restoration of local news and weather news would attract more audience and viewers back to their stations. Only weather and local news may not be the interest of viewers to watch their television station and there might be other varied reasons. For instance, viewers would want some entertainment shows or games while watching the news, or they want lesser advertisements during news so that it does not hamper their viewing experience, or they might want news not only specific to their region and locality but also about world news. There are various factors that would contribute to increasing the viewership of a television station but the author fails to give proper evidence for their strategy to increase viewership.

Therefore, if the author is able to give the pieces of evidence mentioned above along with proper justifications, then it would be appropriate for the television station to restore the devoted time for weather and local news to its former level.