The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

“For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. ln addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The proposed change by the manager seems to be decision done out of haste and with no second thoughts. The evidence provided seems weak as there must be things which were not thought by the manager. The manager must have been pressured by the incoming critical reviews and other distress calls from few of their consumers. So, it would be wise to reassess the situation again, in the below paragraphs I have pointed only few of the weak evidence that the above argument analyses.

In the argument it is stated that many long-time supporters of the station have been complaining about the change in the program. But, the argument lacks number and the word many lacks credibility here as we cannot make a count of actually how many listeners complained. It could have been 10,20 or even a 100. But, if the radio had gained more than 1000 listeners due to change in the program schedule than it is for the best.

It would be a mistake by the management of the radio to discontinue the current changed program. As, it is important to point out that many people listen to latino and world music more than American folk music. So, this change may have led the radio to be more listener friendly as it has most likely gained more listeners than lost them.

As the shifted program has been happening for about a year. we can say that there has been a good response. As this particular radio is a Listener-Supported radio. So, it works because of contributions from its listeners and their support. So, had the program actually tanked with the local audience it would have been evident a long time ago. So, the proposed change will only make a good radio show lose its grip over its audience.

So, I would like to conclude that the manager must reassess the situation and analyse the benefits from the changed situation and take a call with the proposed proposal.