A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Specializations are important for each and every stream in education. It may be narrow and specific but being an expert in a particular domain has many important utilities in today's world. As a doctor has a specialized stream so does a engineer, these streams help in making the world progress faster and easier. Specializations are important because of many reasons but few of them are: Depth in an aspect, no requirement for liberal arts in universities, pressure it would create on students. I have elaborated in the below paragraphs of why I feel specializations are important.

We of course need specializations in a particular course or study as the depth of an aspect can only be studied by specializing in it, Had many scientists such as Sir Albert Einstein not have specialized in their respective study we may not have had many technical marvels and progress in our life. let us take an example, of a skilled scholar such as Sir Issac Newton. If we were to impose such rules on geniuses like him to not to be studying a particular specialized skill in depth, it would have resulted in an altogether different mentality and a aberrant style of living for us.

We already get thorough education for basic stuff in all kinds of streams till we get pass our schooling. So, I strongly feel that there is no use or requirement in again "giving a broad spectrum of liberal courses" for students. As, they already have enough and basic knowledge in most streams. Students have come to a particular stream to study and master a particular expertise, They were already given options to select the stream they desired to join. So, we need to give them a specialized study to help them master a particular stream.

There are many students in India who opt for Medical streams due to being weak and scared in Mathematics. So, if we were to again bring liberal arts back into University education this could result in us losing few merit students because of being weak in studies which they are not interested in and not useful for their particular career objective. Let us take a example of a engineer who is really bad at biology but has got the best talent for designing cars, if we were to implement a liberal art type of course in his engineering course he would be struggling to pass and if he were to fail because of the biology subject , we may be losing a really great automobile engineer.

Even, though specializations have these many advantages and uses there are also few problems associated with them. Such as, for example engineering and medical graduates not being able to manage their finances. As we all now finance is a important thing in our life, we need to be able to manage it but not having knowledge may effect us.

So, all in all I would like to conclude that there are few courses which are a must in every stream so if we were to select a few such that it would help in making better future for students, we can go for it.