The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

the manager concludes in his memorandum : to raise the profits the television station should specify more time to cover the weather and the local news rather than the national news. His conclusion rife with holes as he lend it on several assumptions , if they are proven to be not true , the argument will be unwarranted.

first of all , he built his half-baked conclusion on complains from a viewers from the last year. Perhaps, he assumes that the complains still on board for the current year and so he recommends for covring more news for the weather and local news. however , the manager fails to provide us with the specific reasons why did the station last year exposed more to national news , the possibilities are the country was under certian political complications, for example, the country was attacked from other country, or another circumstances that forced all the national tvs and radios to cover the country's national news. Or maybe last year there was an environmental catastrophe that were not being properly covered by the station and so the viewres comlained. however, the manager did not tell us if the current or past conditions change. In that matter , his point of view from the last year is not convincing his conclusion.

Secondly, he negativily links the canclation of advertisment for some local businesses and deteriorating in stations profit regarding the night program resulted from less coviring of weather and local news. however, the manager assumes that these businiesses are protected from any declining . he did not consider that may be these businesses are forced to closed due to internal reasons of these companies. The manager instead of thinking of aother possibilites to enhance the tv programs and increasing the stations revinues , he came up with unplausible assumptions.

finally ,before drawing any conclusion towards the station's programms future and revenues , the manager should requit an intensive survey in which he knows exactly the reasons behind these complains. may they viewers are interesting in sports programs at night . so the manager will then based his conclusion on an accurate statictical data.

In sum , the argument looks convincing at first glance but with more investigation it is found to be rife with holes. The manager should give us more detailed information about the country's condionts on different levels and built his recommendations on a base of accurate date in order to seek for fruitful success for his station.