The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night news program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The past year had seen a shift in the late-night sessions and devoted more time to national news due to the upcoming election season. There had been a short survey conducted where people had demanded to see more news on the National Elections and campaigning status. Though now that elections are over and our leader is elected, the viewers seemed to be more indifferent towards watching the national news. There has also been some murmur about some local issues that have been pushed under the table despite bothering the folks since quite a few months.

The dire need for more importance to weather news has been justified since the locality comes under semi-agricultural land and erratic rainfall patterns have made the farmers very indecisive on planning their crop produce. Almost 23% of the families that reside here depend on agricultural sources of income and have a serious plea to bring back more detailed weather news on our station.

Apart from this, there have been a few sporadic protest marches in the past few months from a few local people. There is ample farmland which has been deemed unfit for farming and has been burned down by an illegal agency causing havoc to the families living near the outskirts of the city. There were two families with stillborn infants and three families with newborns that had certain birth defects. These households blame ingestion of a hydroxyl based chemical gas due to the burning farmland. Due to these pressing issues in the locality, there have been very compelling steps to bring back local news so more people can be aware about these problems that exist in their own neighborhood.

Few of these families have been born and brought up here so they have strong ties with the local businessmen who influence the advertising companies. This has resulted in shutting down of advertising contracts for our television channel as well. These families have a strong appeal to bring these issues into picture and thus the call for covering local news has taken a toll on business.

Thus, considering all these factors, our television station has decided to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.