The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, out late-night new program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that use to advertise during our late-night news programs have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, weshould restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument,

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, the conclusion was made that if they increased time to weather and local news there would be less complaints, attract more viewers and gain more advertising contracts. The author shows evidence of this by stating the complaints received from viewers were concerned with stations coverage of weather and local news. Additionally, he states that the local businesses that used to advertise during their late-night new program have cancelled contracts with them. However, before this argument can be successfully evaluated, three pieces of specific evidence is needed.

First of all, were the complaints about the late-night new program airing enough weather and local news? Or could it have been about another program? We see that there have been complaints, however, we do not know the context in which these complaints were made. Perhaps knowing the specific complaints would help us evaluate the argument on whether complaints were made about the late-night show or one of the other aired segments. Without this information, we cannot determine whether or not the complaints were made about the late-night show.

Secondly, there is an assumption being made about the correlation between local businesses and cancelled advertising contracts. The statement was made that local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts. In order to justify if this, there is some additional evidence needed. Knowing the reasonings from the specific advertisers as to why they pulled their contracts would strengthen or weaken the argument. However, this information is essential in order to validate the argument.

Lastly, taking into account viewers is something missing from the argument. They memorandum states that in order to attract more viewers to the program they need to increase time to weather and local news. In order to validate this argument, there needs to be data that during the weather and local news, there is a higher rate of viewers. The specific evidence needed is the viewer count during the weather and local news segments.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is flawed. In order to properly evaluate this claim, we need more specific evidence. The evidence will help evaluate the argument more effectively and give us a more accurate depiction of the argument.