The manager states, in the memoradum of the television station, that in order to maintain advertisers and increase the number of viewers, the station should go back to a time where more time were spent covering local news and weather reports instead of national news. This is coming from certain complaints of the coverage of weather an local news and also the decreased number of advertisers od the late-night news program. The argument requieres more evidence in order to assert the situation.

First there should a deep analysis of the complaints recieved. Depending on the source of such complaints, and the validity of them the final decision could change. Lets take the example of a viewer that is not a regular of the channel, or someone who have just started viewing the news program. In both cases the complaints have less merit because this viewer did not watch the news program befor the time change. On the contrary a regular viewer, that never miss a news program of the station can have a more weighted appreciation of the issues concerning the news. or even a viewer that is not a local and is only interested in the national news covered. The source of the complaints is important and it could twist the argument.

The arguer stablishes that the complaints are regarding the coverage of weather and local news, but it is not specified what about the coverage have the viewers disconformed. It could be the case that the complaints are about the quality of the coverage of local news and weather reports rather than the time spent on screen. If the evidence shows that the complaints are base on a quality issue then going back to old times with more time on these topics could have the opposite effect than the one in sight, it could reduce the amount of viewers.

On the other hand the advertisers that used to have paid time on the news program could have very different reasons for stopping the ads and not related to the content of the program. For instance, the price charged by the station for the advertisment time could be higher than the competition in the same hour frame. Several shows, on several channels air at the same time. If an advertiser only cares about the cost of the ad it would simply go to another chain.

In conclusion the statement is flawed, because there is not direct correlation between the going back to previous air time for local news and weather reports and the amount of viewers and paid advertisment in the news program. More evidence is required in order to stablish a course of action that would be more effective for the television station.