'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author through this memorandum argues that restoring the time devoted for weather and local news to it's former level would attract more viewers and would restrict the cancellation of any further advertising contracts for the television station. I find this arguement lacking base and credibility to lack of certain unavoidable evidences whose citations would have persuaded me to somewhat agree with the author. It has nowhere been mentioned that late-night news is viewed by considerable number of viewers, it has not been mentioned that advertising agencies would not prefer prime time shows which is viewed by huge number of viewers, there is no evidence of the interest of present time viewers which might have changed.

Firstly, in contrast to the prime time shows the current late-night news program looses more number of viewers as it might be the case of reduction in number of viewers. For example- a viewer who needs to attend early morning office would hardly prefer watching a late-night news program and would rather switch to some early news show which helps him sticking to his regular routines. This might hamper the routine of his family or his children who needs to go early morning school.

Secondly, though the advertising agencies are still in business with with the television station but it has not been cited anywhere that they would not have an inclination towards a news program that is telecatsed in the evening and which has huge viewer base. To strengthen my view I would put an example- the advertising agency for mattress would prefer being telecasted during the period when the viewers would be about to sleep in some time as the advertisement that has been viewed be them few minutes back would be more prevalent in their thoughts and they might prefer buying the new mattress.

Thirdly, the arguement lacks to highlight any such evidence that the interest of the current viewers has not changed in contrast to the earlier viewers. Despite being devoted to the telecast of weather and local news it might not be viewed by the viwers as there might be a new television show putting some thriller entertainment for the viewers which attract them more in comparison the news show. It might be more compelling for the viewers to watch some entertainment rather than opting for some serious stuff.

In sum, the arguement lacks completely to persuade me for the view that restoring the time for telecast of weather and local news would not lead to any further cancellation of advertising contracts or would attract more viewers to the late-night news show. To bolster his opinion the author could have provided strong evidences citing the interest of the current viewers, the absence of any good television show at the same time when news is telecasted or the preference of viewers for sticking to late-night news shows.