'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station concludes that it would restore the time allocated for the local news and weather forecasting in the late-night news program in order to avoid losing further revenue. The conclusion is based on the following claims. First, Majority of the complaints received during the time slot of the late-night show are from the viewers were about the station's coverage of weather and local news. Second, the local businesses have stopped showing their advertisement during the late-night show. The claim has many loopholes which are discussed further.

First and the foremast, Talking about the cancellation of the contract by the local

businesses. The contracts would be cancelled because the shows air at late-night so, the audience viewing the commercials would less be compared to that during the day time. Due to which it would not be profitable for local businesses to show their commercials at late-night. It is not related to local news and weather.

Furthermore, Talking about the complaint related to weather and local news received during the time slot of the late-night show. It would be that the quality of the local news and weather would not be that efficient or it may not be focused well to its local audience. Also, it could be that complaints would be about local news and weather air at another time of the day and the complaint was filed in this slot. So, this also does not prove efficiently that the reduction in the time has led to a decrease in the revenue.

To sum up, the claims on which the conclusion is made by the business manager of the television station do not justify the conclusion properly and has various loopholes. So, it would not be a good idea to again restore the time for local news and weather.