The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

This memorandum from the business manager of a TV station urged the late-night news team to restore the coverage of weather and local news to last year’s level. The decision is based on feedbacks from viewers which complaint about the deduction of local news and the retraction of advertisement deals from local businesses. The business manager’s can be evaluated fairly if the following two questions are answered.

The first question what caused the increase of national news coverage in the past year. Most of the times, the selection of which news to cover not only depends on if the news is influential to the current viewers, but also depends on the importance of the news itself. News that happened elsewhere does not necessarily mean that it does not impact the day-to-day life of the local people. For example, a change in federal tax legislation should concern everyone in the nation, even though it is not local news. Therefore, the business manager should first find out did the news team arbitrarily choose to include more national news in the past year, or did they choose them because they closely relates to viewers interest. If it is the former, the reducing the coverage of national news and balance the time with local news should bring back viewers. If it is the latter, then losing national news coverage can possibly distract the viewer from the news that actually matters to the viewers.

The second question that should concern the manager is that why exactly did the local business pull their ads off the program. One of the most common causes of decreasing TV AD investors is business are shifting the focus of their marketing audience from TV news viewers to online news viewers, as more and more people are getting their news from websites and apps. Therefore, the decrease of local business ads does not necessarily mean the increase of local news coverage will bring back these investors.

In order to more effectively make decisions on how to select and balance local and national news coverage, the business manage should acquire more information on the characteristics of the current news cycle, communicate with the news team to understand the procedures of how the priorities are give to each news and communicate with local business owner on their needs and expectations of the advertising service.