The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

In this argument the author urge to consider that in order to increase the count of viewer and advertising revenue, the TV station should focus more in the local and weather news in late night news area. To support his recommendation, he cited that viewers are questioning on the station's coverage for local news. I find this argument not cogent and unconvincing for some reasons.

First, the business manager states that viewers are complaining whether the TV station has the coverage for the local and weather news for the late night shift. however, it does not implies which local district viewers are complaining. It is entirely possible to assume that the TV stations is viewing the local news of one district of the state leaving ignoring the other district of the same state. Perhaps, the Station does not have much assets to cover the news for that particular district. As for the weather news, its possible that few districts are so nearby to each other that the weather news for both district are same so there was no need to show the weather for both on the TV screen. Therefore, the brief statement viewing the local and weather news of every district does not seems to be a robust and prudent idea. This ultimately cause a week argument that will count against author conclusion.

Second, the author hypothesize that cancellation of the advertisement from the local business is the reason of lesser late night local and weather news. Here correlation does not prove causation. It is possible that local business might have to cancel their contract because of the financial issue faced by the them in their budget or perhaps the taxes for night advertisement is greater in comparison to the day-time which ultimately increase their cost reliability. As stated above the maybe the cancelled contracts are from the businesses which are at their verge of being collapse or considering themselves bankrupt. Therefore, this assumption is over generalized and business manager's argument lacks the compelling and affluent reasoning to convince his proposal.

Third, the author's implying that restoring the devoted time given to local and weather news as before that bring the positive change to the TV station. This assumption is unwarranted. It possible that the content of the national news shown on the TV is not up to the mark in late night shift. Therefore, perhaps by improving the content of the national news they can secure the existing viewers . Hence author is flawed in a way that he fails to substantiate his conclusion with strong evidence and is teemed with poor reasoning. The careful perusing of the evident provide in the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered without which the reader cannot consider it to be consequential.

In conclusion, this is not a strong argument. To bolster it, the author must, at very least, offer the concrete evidence regarding the real need for the increment of local and weather news , perhaps by the means of survey, which will strengthen the author's claim.