The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is stated that, due to decrease in time for weather and local news, complaints have increased amd also businesses have cancelled their advertising orders. Thus it is recommneded to restore to local news and weather timings to formal levels. But this argument is riddled with specific evidences, and plots, which need to be evaluated in order to strengthen the argument.

Starting with the assumption, that the complaints received from the viewers, concerning station's coverage of weather and local news. The evidence, of the complain being about the decrease in their timings is missing. It is not cleary evident that the complaints are about the decrease in show timings of weather and local news. What if the the complaints were actually about the quality of the local news or the topics covered by the local news, were not adequate? Also, it may be possible that the complaints are about the weather forecast not covering certain areas, which the vieweres were anticipating for? Thus these evidences need to evaluated, that these complaints were not concering these topics, but instead was regarding the short-timing allotted for the local and weather news.

Further , going into the argument, it is stated that the advertising orders by local businesses have cancelled. This argument is also not built on proper foundation as to the major reason concerning, why the local businesses' cancellation, is missing. There maybe a possibility, as to they maybe closing down due to the recession, or they may be moving to a new location, whose locality is not covered by the news channel. Also, they might have cancelled due to, the launch of a new news channel, which offers comparatively cheaper advertising pricing. The evidence, negating all these varied forms of options, and stating that the cancellation was due to low viewership due to reduction in local news and weather coverage timings, is needed in order to strengthen the arguments.

Also it isn't stated anything about the reason the viewers have stopped watching. it can be because of the new anchors, hired by th news channel within the same time preiod. And that people, might not like that specific news anchor, or missed the previous anchor, and hence the total viewership would have decreased. In this case, it would be of no concern to the local news or the weather news. Thus this evidence, of the direct correlation of the viewers interest in the weather news and local news, is needed to strengthen the argument.

Thus summing up it can be said that, the argument afore stated, is actually built on a quite porou foundation, lacking several main evidences. If these evidences not stated clearly would just weaken the argument. These evidences must be such that they clearly answer all the questions which arise, in a proper manner and instilling the correct notion for strengthening the arument, then and then only, the recommendation can also be evaluated.