The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complains received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

In this scenerio, the business manager of the television station things that the viewers of his channel has been decreased due to covering of more national news and giving less time at weather and local news. He supported his claim by saying that the station had most of the complains from the viewers for not telecasting as much local and weather news as before. He also mentioned that, local business that used to advertise during their late night programs has withdrawn their advertising contracts from the TV channel. The manager concluded with the decision that they should return to their previous telecasting late night schedule of more local and weather news, which I think might not be enough for regaining the viewers.

Firstly, the causes the manager showed here, have many gaps. He didn't mention if there were any local emargency was going on at that time or if they were having any environmental disester in that area. These could be a reason for which the viewer were more eager to know about the local situations and weather updates than the national news. The manager also didn't mention the number or the age group of the people from whom they got complains from. There might be a very little number of complains they got, which could be very normal for any television station. Elder citigens generally like to know the weather updates so the calls might be mostly form them. The station need to have more specific research to know for sure why the viewer numbers are dropping. The advertising rate might go down for many reasons. There could be a local unrest or environmental hazard for which the businesses might not earning much profit for keeo the advertising going on in the most expensive slot of the telecasting channel. The channel might have increased the price for the advertising in there channel which is why the businesses might be withdrawing their contracts.

Secondly, the taste of the people of that area might have changed. They might be interested more in drama or movies now other than just weather news or national news. This might be also a reason for losing viewers of the channel.

Form all the reasons mentioned above, going back to previous schedule might not help getting back the viewers. The TV channel needs more research to know for sure why the viewers rate is dropping and act accordingly to regain the viewers of the channel.