The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this memorandum expresses the opinion that the increase in time devoted to local as well as weather news would result in an increased viewership of the program and would prevent further advertising revenues from being pulled. This is on the basis of the large number of complaints regarding these news segments as well as local businesses cancelling their advertisement contracts. However, the author fails to provide concrete evidence to back his assumptions and simply believes that correlation implies causation.

First, there is no basis that an increase in time devotion to the aforementioned news sections would even lead to the number of complaints reducing. Perhaps, the reasoning behind the complaints is that the news is simply incorrect or misleading. If that's the case, it would probably lead to an even larger number of complaints as the viewership would spend a larger time analyzing the information presented. For example, if the town is undergoing an election and the station is providing misleading information regarding the proposed policies by the local government, this could lead to a large number of people completely misjudging the proposed policies. In that case, the issue at hand would not be the time devoted to the section, rather the incorrect content that is presented. Thus, an analysis of the content presented would be more valuable to the news network, rather than blindly increasing the time spent on these sections.

Advertisement contracts from the local businesses during the late-nights news program decreasing have nothing to do with the content of the news being presented. In today's global economy, an advertisor has a plethora of ways to target their intended audience that are proven to be more effective. For example, if the goal is to target local audiences, perhaps it is more lucrative to advertise on the local infrastructure or through advertising platforms such as Facebook and Google. Or perhaps, the costs of advertising on the news network do not warrant the exposure a business receives. This simply does not mean that the content of news presented on the network in any way influences decisions made by the businesses.

Our world is more connected than ever. Given the political tensions between countries such as China and USA, being informed with the global news is ever more important. Has the author considered the repurcussions of this decision of decreased time devotion to the global news? This could result in an even larger increase in customers complaining about the lack of this cosmopolitan coverage as well as a decrease of global brands advertising on the network. Would this result in a considerable lower revenue for the network? All these counter points need to be examined by the author before the proposed solution being implemented by the network.

The author makes some broad assumptions to reach the conclusion, without any research backing him up. However, a further research into the dropping advertising platform's reasoning and the nature of the complaints received by the network would clarify the issues and help decide a path going forward. Simply increasing time devoted to the local news could not only be the solution, but could even harm the network in the long run.