A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Career prospects, and perhaps the choices leading up to it, are some of the most daunting decisions a young individual is required to make. Not only does it affect how one spends 40 hours of their week, it also influences practically every nature of your life. Thus, one must have a choice in pursuing the knowledge they desire most. However, this does not imply that there is not a basic set of skills that every individual must gain in order to thrive in today's global economy. Prior to entering college, individuals must become proficient in the same basic set of skills for a multitude of reasons.

Functioning and thriving in the world today requires one to be proficient in certain categories such as computers and taxes. The lack of these basic skills could introduce a deficit in public knowledge when it comes to dealing with such issues. In a world such as ours where every job application is sent over the internet and tax breaks could lead an individual saving thousands annualy, an individual not familiarized with basic necessaties would not only fall behind, but may also get shunned due to not being able to function as efficiently as possible.

Politics influences our daily livelihood in every imaginable form. Policies introduced by the state governments could lead to two states that might share a border, have infinitely different laws. As an example, consider the blue state California against a red state such as Ohio. Laws governing the usage of drugs and their penelties are vastly different and if these states were given access to regulate their curriculum, the blue state students would be equipped with a vastly different mindset to the ones from the red state. One might even paint the other one as extreme and propaganda such as this must be eliminated by having the national curriculum reflect all sides truthfully and deeply.

Early nurturing of the brain has been proven to benefit an individual in the long run. Thus, a notion of a level playing field is incredibly important in the world today. Being presented with more lucrative options early on could potentially lead to a prosperous career, and similarly, the lack of such options could stifle growth. Hence, nations or governing entities controlling the availability of information and ensuring that every young individual has access to the same resources could prevent a scenario where a bright young mind is stifled due to the lack of similar resources provided.

While it is true that an individual truly succeeds in the field of their true interests, that freedom of choice must be presented when it comes to college studies. Presenting that choice any earlier may result in the lack of basic societal skills from being developed or create an uneven playing field where the rest of the nation falls behind. A society that regulates the learning at a national level would ensure that it's upcoming generation is equipped with the skillset necessary to succeed and stifle any propaganda that might arise due to a difference of opinion of the state.