The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author point out that we need use more time in the weather and local news due to avoid losing adversting revenues and get more viewer to the television. To support this view, the author demonstrate that they get more complaints received from viewers and lose contract with the advertise company because they change the program, which devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. Although the suggestion in the argument is so powerful to handle this situation, we need more evidence to evaulation the validity of the recommendation in the argument. we cannot decide whether the recommendation would changed the situation before we get more evidence.

To begin with, the company received some complaints from viewers are concerned with weather and local news, but we need thinking whether it is level of television caused it instead of changed the time to spend on weather and local news. this to say, we need evidence to show that whether or not the company have not enough money to prepare a wonderful television program, causing the news does not trust and people who loved the news have to send some complaints, so it is may not relative with the less time to play weather and local news, if evidence is this cases, the author's recommendation in the argument is weaken. However, if in opposite situation, the recommendation strengthen.

Moreover, in the argument, we know that advertise company cancel contract with the television company. it is equal of possibilty that does not caused by less time to play weather and local news. In other words, we also need to more evidence demonstrate that what is the purpose of the advertise company, if they just want to show their product in the break of the weather and locals news, and then the time is so little causing the viewers have no opportunity to see the advertise, so the recommendation about devoted more time to weather and local news was supported, but if they company find out the officier in the televison compay does not have such ability to give them convincing plan, so may be the reason why the advertise company cancel the contract just because the television officers and nothing about the news that are playing in the late-night. if the evidence is this case, the recoomendation is weaken.

To sum up, although we could believe that such a situation happened and may be this recommnendation is a good solution, we need more evidence to help us firgue out what is purpose of the viewer and the advertise company and get benefit for all of us.