The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore,

in order to attract more viewers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should restore the time devoted to weather and local

news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific

evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain

how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The premise stated in the argument that 'the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to former levels to attract more viewers and avoid losing further advertising revenue', seems to be valid prima facie. However, further detailed analysis needs to be conducted in order to arrive at the correct conclusion. Various forms of evidence would be required to come to a correct conclusion, some of which can be discussed below.

Firstly, it is stated that over the last one year, the late-night news program has devoted more time to national news and less time to weather and local news. It is imperative to understand why this change was brought about in the first place. There must have been certain reasons why the television station would have made this change, which the business manager might have thought would be profitable to the station. Doing this change might have resulted in higher viewer ratings or any other benefits. The evidence for undertaking this change should be first researched and analyzed to strengthen or weaken the argument.

Next, understanding which category of viewers actually watched this late-night news program would be very important to come to a conclusion. Here, the demographics of the viewers is extremely important. The television station should find out whether the majority of the viewers are more interested in watching the national news, which would give them a holistic understanding of what is happening around. Or they are more interested in watching the local news which would confine their understanding to a particular region. Also, it would be equally important for the television station to check if the complaints received are from viewers who are consistent customers of the channel or by sporadic customers. If the majority of the complaints received are from consistent customers, it would make more sense for the television station to bring a change in their late-night news program to cater to these regular customers.

Finally, it is also worth noting the point of revenue obtained from the advertising of local businesses. It is important to analyze the reasons why local businesses have canceled the advertising contracts with the television station. Is it actually because of the change in the late-night news program or because of some entirely different reason? If it is because of some other reason, then the television station could try and understand the reason behind the same by talking to these local businesses and there wouldn't be any particular need to restore the time devoted to its former level. If the contracts were canceled because of the change in the late-night news program, then the television can try to understand how the change in the late-night news program is actually affecting the local businesses.

Thus to conclude, even though the suggestion to restore the time devoted to local news and weather should be restored to its former level seems correct on the first look, it makes sense to investigate further about the truth behind the suggestion. Having valid evidence to encourage or refute the argument is extremely important before taking any final decision.