A nation should require all of its students to study the

same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the recommendation

and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, describe

specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous

and explain how these examples shape your position.

The premise stated in the issue that 'a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college' on prima facie is an incorrect one. Stating that all the students study the same curriculum irrespective of their interests is not a very valid suggestion, as it doesn't encourage the individual likings of the students. Besides, how do we define the term 'national curriculum' and what would constitute in it is another point of contention.

Every student is unique. Every student has their own interests. Every student also has different mental and physical abilities to assimilate things. Some may be more interested in sciences while others may be more interested in the arts fields. Even science and arts are very broad fields; some students may be more into physics, chemistry, biology or something entirely different. Even the arts would have such bifurcations. Thus, asking all the students to study the same curriculum would mean that even if the students were not interested in a particular subject they would still have to study it and spend time doing it. Rather if this was not the case, the students could spend time on something that interested them more.

Also, not all students would have the ability to understand all the different subjects included in the curriculum. Someone with an inclination towards arts might find it extremely difficult to understand the various math theorems or physics laws. On the other hand, someone with liking to science might have no interest in painting or playing an instrument. For all these students, forcing them to study a standardized national curriculum would not be beneficial. The students should be encouraged from an early age to cultivate their interests and work towards them so that they can have a solid foundation, which could result in a successful career in the future.

However, just like a coin has two sides there can be another point of view to this premise. There can be students who might not be aware of their interests or might be confused about what field they should choose. For such students, it makes sense to a certain extent to have the same curriculum since it would mean that these students would get exposed to a variety of subjects at the very start of their educational life and hence would get a chance to choose their fields. Having the same curriculum would mean that they are exposed to different subjects and hence can explore these subjects to finally narrow down on their field of interests.

Thus to conclude, have the same standardized national curriculum for the students and asking all of them to study it isn't the best possible recommendation. Students would already have their fields of interest should be encouraged to pursue the same since the start, whereas others could be given an opportunity to decide based on the curriculum. However, asking all the students to go through the same process would not be the most efficient process to follow.