The following is a memrandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-might news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local buisnesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program, we should restore the time devoted to wearher and local news to its former level"

A succeful manager should always search for what will make the business more succeful, and the television industry is no different. The business manager is trying to increase the advertising revenues from a show which is understandable but the logic that supports his plan is highly flawed.

First the manager built his whole argument on the assumption that the complaints some viewers sent represent all the viewers of the channel, which is not only false but highly misleading. All the complaints may have come from a certain group of the viewers or even a couple of individuals sending multiple complaints. To conclude a result based on the opinion of the viewers a proper survey must be conducted asking people about whether reducing the time of weather or local news made them stop watching the news.

Also, the manger assumes that people were intrested in the weather and the local news in the first place, if people didnt like watching this section of the news, returning it will only make the problem worse. Let's assume that people loved the weather and local news section in the past, thinking that viewers interests haven't changed during the year is wrong, maybe what the viewers want is coverage for a different topic that the station doesn't provide at all.

The manager also fails to consider is the quality of the news itself, during this year the presenters may have become dull and not appealing to the viewers making the show boring, neglecting the human factor in the conclusion is false, maybe one of the reasons for the decrease in views is the reduction of the local news and weather time, but then during this year a lot of problems that the manger fails to consider causing the reduction in views.

To solve the reduction of views a more broad of thorough analysis must be made, one that considers the different aspects of the problems starting from the changes that happened to the viewer during this year and the changes that happened internally in the station itself.