The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Humana University concludes that like those at Omni online degree program should be initiated and actively promoted to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficit at Humana university; however, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the president of Humana university assumes that last year's increase in the number of students in Omni university by 50 percent has happened because Omni university offered an online program. However, there is no evidence to prove that the increase in enrollment in Omni university actually happened because of the online degree program. Maybe it happened because they offered new majors in the university which they did not offer before thus new students joined the university or maybe an increase in enrollment happened because Omni university has hired new, top-ranked faculty members that encored students to enroll in this university.

Another problem with the argument is that the president comes to this conclusion that a significant decrease in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space in comparison to prior years in Omni university is because they hold classes via the internet. However, there is no evidence to definitely prove this conclusion in that case. Maybe the price of houses around campus decrease and students preferred to rent a house near university instead of using dormitory thus Omni university did not need to create a new dormitory. Or maybe Omni university holds classes in hours that before no classes held on that hour and with this decision they did not need to increase classroom.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer thinks that the falling number of enrollment in Humana University in the past three years and an increase in the cost of maintaining new buildings can be solved with offering the online program. However, there is no evidence to insure this conclusion. Maybe the decrease in the number of enrollment is because they do not offer majors that in comparison to the past three years more students attract to it or maybe they increase the tuition fee and this is the reason the student does not enroll in their university. On the other hand, if we assume that offering an online program help to cut the building cost. But we should consider that it needs considerations that Humana university needs to prepare and maybe the cost of this basis for the online program be more than the cost of building new buildings.

In the final analysis, the president of Humana university's conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because as it was shown in the body paragraphs above it depends on the number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed