The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Centerville has proposed a petition to ban cell phone use on sidewalks in order to address an increased occurance of "sidewalk rage." Although the ban is proposed with good intentions, the assumptions they use to support this policy need to be further investigated. Without furter information, the cell phone ban arguments are incredibly weak.

The first assumption that requires further investigation is the assumption that there is a direct correlation between cell phone use and the increased assaults and property damage. In order to get at the heart of the issue, other outside factors must be taken into consideration. When investigating the causes of property damage, we must understand the context behind these claims - was there a storm and property was damaged due to natural causes? Is there urbanization of certain areas and, as a result, an increase in population that has lead to vandalism? Additionally, increased assaults may be occuring in the general vacinity as a result of larger problems: increased unemployment, increased local gang violence, or evern hotter weather which can lead to higher rates of agitation. These are just a few instances where the issue of property damage and assaults would not necessarly be mitigated with a bank on cell phone use on sidewalks.

The argument also highlights the ban's effectiveness in Middleton, where reported incidents of sidewalk crime has decreased. There is an underlying assumption here that Middleton and Centerville are similar enough towns and that Centerville will see the same results that Middelton has experienced. In order to strengthen this argument, we must know the similarities and differences between the two towns. The ban has assuaged sidewalk crime in Middleton but what was the climate like before this ban? How many pedestrians walked Middleton? For all we know, Middleton is a commuter town with most of it's residents driving in cars so, naturally, hearing no complaints is understandable. Centerville could, in contrast, have a higher popoulation of people using sidewalks and, therefore, encounter different scenarios and everyday normalcies on their sidewalks. The argument treats Middleton and Centerville as comparable towns that will experience the same results should the ban be implemented. Middleton's differences as a community need to be addressed in order for this argument to be strengthened.

Lastly, the reported number of incidents decreased significantly in Middleton. This is vague terminology that needs to be quantitied as well are qualified. What does a signficant decrease mean exactly? How much did the reported number of incidents go down? For instance, if there were only 2 reported instances of sidewalk crime reported last year and, this year, it went down to 1, that is a singnificant decreased of 50%. That is an impressive figure but, in presented in context, it would have less weight and significance when pushing forward a legislation.

The ban on cell phone use on sidewalks is to help mitigate sidewalk crime is a step in the right direction in addressing an issue. In order for the success of this ban or any proposition, many assumptions must be addressed. Should the questions presented in this rebuttal not be addressed, this argument to ban cell phones is incredibly weak.