"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The argument makes many unwarranted assumptions about the causes of sidewalk rage. It proposes a ban on usage of phones on sidewalks assuming it to be the ultimate cause for sidewalk rage. Children are assumed to be predominantly vulnerable to sidewalk rage. It also makes an assumption that outcome of the ban in Centerville will be similar to that in Middletown and fails to take into account various factors of the population.

The first assumption is that imposing a ban on the usage of phones on the sidewalk will be the panacea for the problem. The number of people walking on the sidewalk is a pivotal parameter to be considered while examining the causes for sidewalk rage. When surfeit amount of people taking the sidewalk, people will be frustrated to walk in such a congested environment. This frustration transitions to rage when they encounter a highly crowded path while going to work. The stress to reach ones workplace on time concomitant with the agitation caused by high levels of congestion in that path adds fuel to fire and it influences their thoughts and makes them take grave choices.

The argument also assumes the fact that the outcome of the ban in Centerville will be similar to that in Middletown. This assumption is inherently flawed due to a deluge of reasons. The prime reason is that Middletown and Centerville may not have the same population density. The population of Middletown maybe completely different to that of Centerville, both in number and economic status. The town of Centerville may have a high per capita income compared to Middletown resulting in myriad vehicles in town. That will result in less people taking the sidewalks. If the population density is low compared to Middletown,that will result in less number of sidewalk rage-related incidents. The technological prowess of the town is also a pivotal factor. If Centerville is a technologically backward town, then the usage of mobile phones among the people will be sporadic.In that case, ban on mobile phones will be superfluous. This assumption needs a lot of comparative studies between the two towns' population,economic status and other factors to buttress the assumption.

The third assumption of the argument states the children are most vulnerable to sidewalk rage due to their height. This

assumption is also flawed as it does not take into account the age and height distribution of people in that region.

Old age people are also highly vulnerable to sidewalk rage due to their reduced mobility (which is a consequence of their age).

Hence, the argument makes a lot of flawed assumptions.