The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument concludes that the town should build golf course and resort hotel alike to Ocean View. To justify this conclusion the mayor claims that to improve economy of Hopewell is by generating more tax revenues which requires building golf courses and resort hotel alike to Ocean view. The argument assumes that it is the best way to do so. The argument also assumes that the Tourism has increased in the Ocean View due to new golf course and resort hotel. the argument claims that as the Ocean View build new golf course and resort hotel the tax revenues has increased by thirty percent. The basis of the argument is false and requires more detailed survey and proper reasoning and hence lacks credibility.

Firstly, the argument assumes that the building of golf course and resort hotel is the best way to improve the towns economy. What if even after doing so the economy does not boost up? The mayor assumes that there is increase in tax revenues by Ocean View due to the building of new golf course and resort hotel which have increased attraction of tourists. What if there were other reasons besides above that have led to increased number of tourists in the Ocean View. They might have added Casinos, variety of food options, and many others. Perhaps there are many other package options that the Ocean View is providing to the tourists which has led to be more attractive to them. So a proper survey is required for these.

Secondly, the argument relates the increase in the tourism in the last two years in Ocean View. The argument has not observed the data of earlier time. The Ocean View might have very high tourism in past years and had an sudden downfall due to some reasons, may be like safety, food, etc., two year back and this is not the best period that the Ocean view is having. So a detailed survey is to be done and data relating to the tax revenues in the past years have to be examined to before taking the action.

Finally, the argument assumes that building new golf course and resort hotel will ensure high tax revenues. But it may not be the case. More number of resort and golf course in the town does not ensure that there will be more tourism in the town. The tourism might not increase even after doing so.

Hence, the argument fails to address all the factors required to ensure that the economics of town Hopewell and hence seems spurious. While the argument highlight a possibility, more detailed information is required to ensure the action.