The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books claimed that Monarch should open a café in in its store to attract more customers. However, some questions need answers to evaluate the claim.

When opening a café, a space need to be made. The recommendation said that the space can be made by discounting the children’s book section. However, what does the profit from children’s books account for the portion of the total income of Monarch Books? Although Monarch Books is known for its wide selection of books, the children’s books could be the main products it sells. To answers the question, the directors should present a pie chart that can show the portions of total income.

Even if the profit from children’s book sales does not account for a large part of total income, the children’s book section could also have a large effect on the selling of other book section. For example, when parents bring their children to Monarch Books, parents could also browse the recent best-selling books. People are likely to buy the books when those books are most welcome to the public. Those best-selling books often have large income.

One of the adversary of Monarch, Regal Books, recently opened its own café. Therefore, the directors concluded that opening a café in Monarch could better compete with Regal Books. The question here is that what is the similar parts and the different parts between two book stores? For example, if both book stores are at the same location, then the customers they attract are more likely the same. With an opening café, customer would like to go to the book store to read books with a cup of coffee. In contrast, when two books stores are at different locations, assuming that Monarch is in a center location of the city with other café beside it and Regal is in the county with no other café around it, then Monarch may not attract more customers with a café opening. Monarch would more like people to buy books to other café for reading.

To evaluate the argument, the directors should provide answers to the questions mentioned above.