The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

The recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books to open a café in their store to increase its customer base, contains many unwarranted assumptions and thus, the recommenders must answer a few questions to substantiate the recommendation that it will lead to the predicted results.

First question that needs to be answered is that what is the relation between opening of a café and the attraction of customers to buy books? There is a possibility that customers might come only to relax and eat at the café and not necessarily buy books. Thus, there must be a direct relation between the opening of a café and attraction of customers in the book store so that it can lead to an increase in sales elsewise the assumption is unwarranted.

Second question that needs to be answered is why should only the children’s book section and no other section be discontinued to make space for the café? Although the author states that recent national census has indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, but it however, does not imply that the proportion of readers aged under ten located near the book store have decreased significantly. It is also possible that the children section might be one of the most popular sections of the book store and discontinuing it could lead to significant drop in customers. Discontinuing a less popular section to make space for the store will be a better alternative. Thus, the percentage of the population under age ten in store’s locality and the popularity of different sections across the store should be taken into account before deciding which section to be discontinued.

Lastly, the question that needs to be answered is that how can the Monarch Store compete better than the Regal Store by opening a café? It should be known whether the Regal Store was earlier located somewhere else and what is the size of their customer base? It’s possible that since the Regal Store has opened recently, its customer base would be small, and thus opening a café for it to increase its popularity sounds logical but for the Monarch Store on the other hand, since it has been in business at the same location for more than twenty years and already has a large customer base, opening a café would not lead to significant change in its customer base rather only increase its expenses.

Therefore, all factors like relation of café with increase in book sales, popularity of different sections across the book store, proportion of readers in different age groups and detailed comparison of sales with Regal Store rather than looking at absolute indicators must be considered by the Board of Directors of Monarch Books and the aforementioned questions should be answered to substantiate the recommendation made by them. Unless these questions are answered, the argument does not sound logical and falls apart.