The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The author recommends that the Monarch Books open a café in its stores. The author’s argument assumes that the introducing a café with books in its stores will increase the number of customers. It is also assumed on the basis of the national census that children’s population under the age of ten will significantly decline. The customer rate at Monarch Books is compared with that of Regal Books which owns a cafe. The argument is full of holes and assumptions, and thus, not enough to lead the increase in popularity.

In the first place, the Monarch Books is quite popular among its customers because of its wide range of books on all subjects. People often visit cafés to eat, drink, meet or chat with others. It can attract those who want to read books in the store. Thus, it is not clear that all the customers would like to have a café. If the customer review is taken beforehand, it will help to understand the requirements of the store, including café.

In addition, to introduce a café in the store, the author recommends removing the children’s section of books. It is assumed that the population of the children under the age of ten will decline significantly, according to the national census. Here, the word “probably” indicates that the decline is not certain. This assumption might have been done on the basis of records of last five or ten years census. But, it cannot be assumed that this decline would continue. Hence, the children’s section must not be removed until there is an actual decline in the customers under the age of ten years.

Moreover, the author compares Monarch Books with Regal Books which owns a café. The Monarch Books is well-known for the collection of books which Regal Books might not be. The Regal Books might be famous for its café. It is not clear that the Regal Books succeeded in attracting more customers by introducing a café. Therefore, opening a café to attract more customers is not justifiable.

In conclusion, it would be better to consider customer reviews on introducing a café to the bookstore. The customer reviews will help in deciding the space for the cafe and the children’s section can be accordingly adjusted.