The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that opening a Café will attract more customers to Monarch, the author of this recommendation makes unfounded logical leaps in explaining this claim. In order to fully evaluate the validity of this recommendation, these leaps must be examined. The author makes claims that Monarch’s large customer base is due to its wide selection of books, opening a café would attract more customers, and that children’s books are likely to become less popular, none of which are fully or properly supported. In order to properly assess whether the café will indeed result in more customers, one would need to know whether Monarchs wide selection is the source of its large customer base, whether a café will really bring more customers in, and whether the increased customers from the café will be more profitable than the decreased customers from the elimination of the children’s book section.

The first major question that arises from the authors argument is whether a wide selection of books is really the source of Monarch’s success to date. This is stated in the argument, however no evidence is given to support this fact. As the recommendation involves decreasing the book stores selection by eliminating children’s books, it is important to understand whether a smaller selection will cause current customers to lose interest in Monarch. Moreover, if this assumption is false, and the current customer base of Monarchs is actually due to the excellent children’s book section that the store has to offer, this recommendation would likely lose more customers than it gains.

Next, the author states that “clearly, opening the café would attract more customers.” However, he includes no evidence that demonstrates the clarity of this claim. It would be useful to examine rival book store, Regal, in this instance to see if their newly added café has caused an increase in customers. Additionally, in order to bring in new customers, it would need to be demonstrated that there are currently people who do not visit Monarchs now but would visit if there was a café. This is difficult to show and, in fact, not clear at all, as the number of new customers in this category would depend largely on the marketing and outreach related to the launch of the café.

Most importantly, the assumption that trading a children’s book section for a café would be profitable must be further examined. The information provided in the proposal is largely unhelpful in making this decision. The fact that the percentage of the population under ten is declining does not necessarily mean that the number of children’s book customers is declining. For instance, if the total population grows, this age group could stay the same size despite a percentage decrease. Moreover, if purchases of books per child under ten is increasing, the number of children’s book customers could also stay the same. The question that must be answered is whether the number of children’s book customers over the coming years is larger or smaller that the number of additional customers attracted by a café. This would allow for a reasonable conclusion to be made over whether the café will bring an overall net increase in customers

Despite these unanswered questions, the point regarding competition with rival bookstore, Regal, warrant’s investigation into this recommendation by Monarch’s Board of Directors. However, before a decision is made it is important that the board examines the validity of the recommendations many assumptions and conducts their own analysis regarding a café addition.