Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given claim presents two primary ideas. The first, that “learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline,” I find to be a gross over generalization that fails to account for the wide array of circumstances in which learning takes place. The second, that “students cannot be motivated by school or college alone,” I believe to be valid. As these two statements are not necessarily contrapositive to one another, I take a stance of qualified disagreement with the claim in this essay. While I must disagree with the claim as a whole due to the fallacy of the first component, I acknowledge that the latter component is reasonable and supportable.

To make broad generalizations about underlying motivations and causes of learning is inherently flawed. Motivations for learning are severely context depended, specifically, age plays a large role in what motivates students to learn. Young students, early childhood or lower grades will primarily be motivated by desire to please teacher, authority figures, and peers. During these early years, students lack the perspective over their own lives to make conscious decisions about how hard they should work or study. Instead, they take queues from their teachers and classmates to decide what is important. Generally, the threat of disappointment from teachers and parents or even performance-based punishment or reward is the primary motivator for childhood learning. It is not until later on in a student’s education that personal discipline starts to play a key role.

Once students move into high school and college, learning becomes more self-directed. Furthermore, in college, the option to drop out is much more easily available. As a function of this transition, learning comes to rely much more heavily on personal discipline. Now that the decisions about what to learn as well as the decision whether to learn at all are in the student’s hands, they must have personal discipline and personal desire to learn in order to do so effectively. However, environment still has a significant impact, even when learning is self-directed. For instance, many college students express desire to live up to parents’ expectations. Speaking from my own experience being a student at Stanford, having peers achieving at a high level is another driver for personal success. Thus, since there are several external motivating factors present, it is still unfair to make the claim that learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline.

My disagreement is qualified, because I do agree that students cannot be motivated by school or college alone. Examples that I have already mentioned show that parents, and peers can also play a large role in motivating students to learn. Take the average public high school in the US. Students attending the same school, exposed to the same techniques employed by the school to motivate learning, end up spanning a full spectrum from high school dropouts to acceptance into elite colleges. This variety is strong evidence that the school alone cannot consistently motivate students. This view is reinforced by studies involving growth mindset. Students who hold the personal belief that they can improve and become better in a subject learn more quickly and effectively than students who believe that success in a given subject is based on natural talent.

In conclusion, personal discipline is certainly relevant in learning, however, it cannot be said that learning is ‘primarily’ a matter of personal disciple. Meanwhile, it is indeed accurate to say that schools and colleges lack the power to single handedly motivate students. The claim at hand is therefore false at best and deliberately misleading at worst. The claim attempts to follow up a bold and unsupported viewpoint with a related viewpoint that is framed as support for the first. While the second viewpoint is valid, it does not in fact prove the first viewpoint, therefore encouraging the reader to accept the first under false pretense.