The following is a recommendation from the city manager of Bridge Bay.

“Last year, the number of visits to our local beach in Bridge Bay was 50 percent lower

than the year before. Early last year we ended our contract with Arko Trash Collection, a

company that had serviced local garbage collection for the past twenty years. We switched

at that time to Satellite Waste Corporation, another trash collection company. In nearby

Ocean Harbor, where Arko has continued to provide garbage collection, the beaches are

experiencing record levels of attendance. Meanwhile, in Bridge Bay, complaints about

garbage on our beach have increased this year. Clearly, inadequate garbage collection on

our beach by Satellite has led to the significant drop in visitors. Therefore, in order to

restore visitor numbers to our local beach, we recommend resuming our contract with

Arko as soon as possible.”

Many questions demand an answer, before a conclusive decision regarding, restoring Arko Trash Collection can be taken. Are the locals complaining about inadequate trash collection? Is there any factor, other than cleanliness which could be impacting people's willingness to visit Bridge Bay Beach? Has Ocean Harbor invested more towards attracting tourists? We will evaluate all of these questions in this essay.

The recommendation from the city manager mentions that, "complaints about garbage on our beach have increased this year". It is imperative to ask who are the people making these complaints? Are they tourists or locals? If only tourists are complaining then it is possible that their origin countries are generally cleaner than Bridge Bay beach, with no fault of Satellite Waste Corporation. Exactly, what is the increase in number of complaints? An increase of 5-10% could be attributed to natural reasons such as increase in economic activity, while an increase of over 20% would signify something fundamentally wrong with the new garbage collection system. Are people across the city making more complaints, or only a particular group of people are making more complaints? In the latter case, it becomes important to probe if such a group of people have other hidden intentions than just complaining about cleanliness.

We must also evaluate factors beyond the control of Satellite Waste Corporation to fairly determine the reason for a 50% drop in numer of tourists. Is the water at Bridge Bay as clean as it used to be? It is possible that the local industry has suddenly started polluting the sea water, resulting in detioriation of water quality at Bridge Bay Beach, which will drive away the tourists. Is there a sudden increase in animals or plants such as string rays at Bridge Bay, causing people to choose Ocean Harbor for their well-being? It is possible that people are staying away from Bridge Bay in order to enjoy a trouble free experience. Is there an increase in unlawful activities at Bridge Bay Beach? If crime is increasing at Bridge Bay, it is logical for people to consider alternative beaches to ensure their own safety.

We also need to look if Ocean harbor has actively taken measures such as more advertising or building more facilities to attract tourists. International advertising would attract a lot more people to Ocean harbor, and people will go their by leaving Bridge Bay, which could be the reason for dip in tourists number at Bridge Bay. If Ocean harbor has invested more in building facilities such as water sports, amusement park rides, better food stalls, then Ocean harbor will naturally attract more tourists looking for a memorable holiday experience, leading to a dip in tourist numbers at Bridge Bay beach.

In conclusion, many questions need to be answered first before fall in tourists number at Bridge Bay beach can be blamed on Satellite Waste Corporation. The city manager must answer these questions before restoration of Arko Trash Collection can be considered.