The following is a recommendation from the city manager of Bridge Bay.

“Last year, the number of visits to our local beach in Bridge Bay was 50 percent lower

than the year before. Early last year we ended our contract with Arko Trash Collection, a

company that had serviced local garbage collection for the past twenty years. We switched

at that time to Satellite Waste Corporation, another trash collection company. In nearby

Ocean Harbor, where Arko has continued to provide garbage collection, the beaches are

experiencing record levels of attendance. Meanwhile, in Bridge Bay, complaints about

garbage on our beach have increased this year. Clearly, inadequate garbage collection on

our beach by Satellite has led to the significant drop in visitors. Therefore, in order to

restore visitor numbers to our local beach, we recommend resuming our contract with

Arko as soon as possible.”

The manager claims here that the local beach he is in charge of should quickly resume its contract with Arko Trash Collection, the former company which duty consisted in servicing local garbage collection. Last year, Bridge Bay has ended its collaboration with Arko Trash Collection and has signed a new contract with a rival company.

First of all, the arguments readily assumes that what fundamentally distinguishes the services at Bridge Bay and rival local beach Ocean Harbor, is the process of garbage collection. Given that attendance in Ocean Harbor far exceeds attendance at Bridge Bay, the manager imputes this gap to the end of the collaboration between Arko and Bridge Bay. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, Bridge Bay may be loccated in a more pleasant and quiescent setting. Thus, more tourists would be attracted to Bridge Bay. Other key factors could have bring about this gap : a difference in the quality of services for example. Hence, the recommendation would have been much convincing it it was supported by a thorough assessment of Ocean Harbor offer and a proper benchmark.

The argument readily asserts that the complaints about garbage collection in Bridge Bay shoud be imputed to the new conctrat the local beach has signed with a different garbage collector. However, it may be a matter of customers behaviours : customers could have been more prone to leave their garbage carelessly thus leading to less effective garbage collection. The argument should provide evidence that customers attending the local beach have not adopted a different behviour in ordre to be more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the manager notes that complaints about garbage have increased recently. The underlying assumption is that people complaining about garbage are representative of the whole set of customers, which indicates that people are not attending Bridge Bay because of the garbage there. Nonetheless, careful scrutiny of the evidence could reveal that people's complaints about garbage are correlated to personality or general experience at the beach.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further and support the recommendation he made, the author must provide better concrete evidence, perhaps by a way of a reliable survey and a detailed analysis of the difference of offer in bea