The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the personnel director, the Acme company should require all of their employees to take the spead-reading course in order to improve productivity. However, more information regarding the graduates of the cources, the cost, and the employees structure in the company is required in order to evaluate the argument.

To begin with, we need the direct evidence that the course is effective. According to the director, one graduate was able to read a 500-page report in two hours and another graduate got promotion within a year. This two piece of evidence, however, are not able to justify the effectiveness of the course. Maybe the graduate have not understand the report in only two hours despite he infirms he had finished reading. If this is the case, the course might not be able to increase reading spead. Similarly, another graduate get promoted might because his other characteristic such as communication skills or manage skills. If this is the case, the course might not be effective. Therefore, we need to investigate whether graduates of the curriculum have obtained the fast reading ability.

Even if the course is effective, another piece of evidence might affect our analysis on the soundness of the argument is about the cost of the course. Although this course only cost 500 dollors per employee, it is still possible that some another courses with the same effect but cheaper are available. If so, it is not sensible for the company to choose Easy Read. In addition, we also need to know the relative cost of this curriculum. If each employee in this company only product 100 dollors per year, it is unreasonable to let the employees to take the course, since the cost is far more than the value generated by the subordinates.

Granted that the course is effective and cost relative little, we also need more information with regard to the structure of the employment to evaluate the argument. In spite of the effectiveness, the course will not be helpful if most of the employees' work are irrlated with reading. For example, maybe most of the employees in this company are workers who have to manipulate the printing machines. Under such circumstances, they don't have to read in their work place. In other words, the improvement of reading spead will not necessarily boost productivity. Therefore, we need to more information regarding the structure of the employees to find out whether the argument is sound.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the director desire the improvement of produticity. But we still need to examine more evidences mentioned above so as to decide whether Acme would benefit.<br>