The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Compay recommends that the company, inorder to improve the overall productivity, should require all of their employees to take the Easy Read Speed-Reading course. They support their recommendation by citing two examples of other companies who took the course, where one graduate of the course was able to read 500-page report in only two hours and another graduate rose from an assitstant manager to vice president in under a year. However, before determining whether this recommendation is likely to achieve the predicted outcome, three questions need to be answered. By addressing these questions, we can evaluate the recommendation more effectively.

First of all, whether all the employees of Acme Publishing Company, irrespective of their role and designation, benefit equally from the speed-reading course? Reading large documents may not be a requirement in many roles, and thus a speed-reading course would not necessarily increase their productivity. For example, someone who works in finance department would be spending most of their time in crunching numbers and building financial models, and would seldom require reading large documents. A website developer wouldn't spend most of thier time reading documents. In such cases, a speed-reading course wouldn't help in increasing their productivity. Whereas, for someone who works in legal department, who often spend their time lingering over large documents, a speed-reading course would be very much beneficial. Therefore, answering this question would give us a better picture of whether making the course mandatory for every employee would be beneficial or not.

Secondly, did the graduate who rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year, was able to do so solely because of the speed-reading course and there were no other factors involved? Maybe this person also took another course, for example, on giving better presentations which had a bigger impact on their quick promotion. Perhaps they worked for extra hours and went out of their way in achieving their deliverables, which impressed the management and promoted them quickly. Without looking at other factors, it would be incorrect to say that the person got promoted to vice president in under a year beacuse they took the speed-reading course.

Thirdly, is it possible to grasp the contents of a document by speed-reading it? Speed-reading does indeed save time and therefore one can finish reading more documents in a day. But does this imply one can also absorb more information? It is possible that we miss some intricate details and fail to notice some hidden meaning when we try to speed-read a document. In such a case, being able to read more documents does not necessarily mean that one would grasp more information and thus a speed-reading course wouldn't make them more productive.

In conclusion, we see that, although the author's recommendation seems reasonable, it is missing some key information. By answering the above questions, we would be able to better evaluate whether making speed-reading course mandatory for all employees would achieve the desired results.