The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College a private institution to the college s governing committee We recommend that Grove College preserve its century old tradition of all female education rather t

The president and administrative staff at Grove College propose that, it should preserve its proprietary all-female policy as opposed to coeducation. However, the argument provided against the same consists of some seriously unwarranted assumptions which raise some questions which if not answered could jeopardize the validity of the argument. Hence, before evaluating the argument the following three questions need to be answered.

First of all, why is it that the survey of students and alumnae given more credibility as compared to the survey of the faculty? It might be the case that, the faculty having taught for several years have seen the situation more closely and they might be the better judge in this situation. It is true that the students belong to the students and they should be involved in the decision making, but that does not mean that the faculty has no say. No answer is provided for this question in the argument.

Secondly, What percentage of students participated in the survey? It might be the case that out of a total of 5,000 students only 100 students responded to the survey which would mean that only 80 students align with the conclusion. However, this number is insignificant against the total strength of college.

Lastly, On what basis the author avers that keeping the college all-female improve the morale among students? Not making the college coeducation might not make the students ready for the real world. The students might face problems working with other male colleagues because of their zero exposure to males.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed and the author needs to answer the above-mentioned questions before his argument could be formally assessed.