A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

There are debates going on, on whether a nation should enforce all students to study a similar curriculum until the student enters college. The reason given is that since all students will be exposed to the same content it will create equal opportunities and it would be easy to take tests since all students will be following the same pattern. I mostly disagree with this notion because in a huge country like the united states every state has its own culture, language and ideology which is a blessing. But at the same time, I concede to the idea of the same level of education. So here are two reasons below for which support and one reason I disagree with the idea.

First of all, every place has its own cultural values, its language, its history and morals. If we were to implement all the same curriculum across all these places we run a huge risk of losing these centuries old traditions and knowledge which give a human being a sense of belonging and identity. So, every individual will be different and everyone will have their own different ideas. Each one has his or her own way on handling situations and everyone will have different solutions to problems.

Secondly, the time until we start college is a lot. Our perspectives and interests have developed until that time. So the students should be given this freedom to explore and go in depth and discover what their passion is. And in a way also discover who they really are and what they really want to do in life.

However, at the same time, we all are part of one nation and we all should share some common beliefs. We all should be able to connect somewhere. There should be unity amongst all this diversity. In this case, the idea of having similar curriculum hold up. We should have common ideas to talk about. Also, some students are undecided until the very end so for them there should be a this curriculum.

In conclusion, the curriculum should be a mix of local knowledge while also giving them some common ideas to feel united by.