The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The arguer recommend Grove College keep its century-old tradition of all-female education and demur the suggestion to admitting men into its program. To support the claim, the author cites the survey and gives the reasons, for example, all female will improve morale(斗志) and bring more financial supports from alumnae. However, reveals that it lends little credible support to the argument.

First, the survey quoted by the author is not reliable. Due to the lack of certain evidence, the survey cannot indicate the author's idea of remaining all-female education. First of all, it mentions in the paragraph that in the survey conducted by the student government, over 80 percent of students support to keep all-female education, but it is unclear that how many students take part in the survey. If there are only 10 students attending the survey, these 10 students cannot represent all the student in the college. Moreover, most of the students enrolled in Grove College may be attracted by the characteristics of all-female. Thus, for these students, it is no hesitation to champion the speciality as an attraction and they love. In short, without better tools that the survey is statistically reliable, the author cannot rely on it to conclude any firm idea.

Furthermore, the author fails to create a causal relationship between all-female education and morale improvement. It is highly possible that there are many other factors that can impact the morale in Grove College. First, the education quality will affect the morale. As a college, the most important thing is to provide a high-quality education. Good teachers are a significant factor to lead student to a higher level. Not only the well-skilled and patient professor, but the good study environment is also necessary for students to study better. In addition, it is also likely that employment rate could influent the morale. If employment rate for graduates is high, students will have a clear goal and working harder to maintain the advantages brought back by the graduates. Lacking evidence that links A to B, it is presumptuous to suggest that all-female education will improve the morale of Grove College students.

Moreover, the author thinks that keep all-female education will bring constant financial support from alumnae, which is unreliable, since there can be many other reasons impact the decisions whether the alumnae want to continue to give the Grove College supports. First, the reputation of the college is important. The college where the person graduated from sometimes is a representation of the person's honor. If the college's reputation will give the alumnae positive effect, they are surely willing to support their school, and vice versa. Second, the resources of the school and other alumnae are also important. If the school and other alumnae can give support when one faces difficulties in his career or health, one will return the favors for the school because the Grove College gives one this chance to requicken. Based on these factors that can vacillate alumnae's decisions, the author cannot say firmly that keeping all-female education sure to bring financial support from alumnae.

From what have been discussed above, the arguer fails to convince readers by jumping to a conclusion that does not hold up to analysis. To strengthen the argument, the arguer needs to find more research that can support the idea that all-female environment will bring more benefits towards the Grove College than co-education.