The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumni who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all-female, therefore, will improve morale among students and convince alumni to keep supporting the college financially."

The college's governing committee asserts that remaining the current tradition in the college will lead to constant financial supporting on the college. However, the governing committee's assertion has several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the governing committe provides a statistic held by the student government showing that 80 percent of the students want to sustain the college's tradition. However, to make this statistic persuasive there needs to be more information about it. There are no specific number of students who voted in the survey. Just providing the percentage is not enough to recognize the student's mind. Moreover, since the survey is held by the student government, there might be some distortion in the result. Perhaps, the survey was mainly by someone who wants the current tradition.

Secondly, the governing committe cites that over half of the alumnae who answered a different survey opposed with the coeducation. However, the survey provided needs more information to be persuasive. The survey does not provide actual number of people voted in the survery. Thus, it does not cite actual percentage of the survey, showing only a rough result. This might distort the result of the survey since there might be some significant number of alumnae who argee with the coeducation.

Finally, the governing committee assumes that changing the tradition will lead to loss on financial support from its alumnae and students. However, this assumption does not consider other possible situation. There is no direct relationship between sponsoring the college and changing the college's policy. There is a need for more explanation on these relationships. Moreover, there is no actual number of people voted for the survey. Even if the percentage might be high, the effect of it will be feeble if the number of people who disagree with the change are low. Thus, there is a need for extra information about how much percentage of this patron influence the college financial.

Overall, the governing committee's decision on remaining the current tradition due to its financial support on students and alumnae relies on weak substatiation. Therefore, it fails to give logical explantion on its assertion and therefore unpersuasive.