The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Throughout history, prestigious all-female institutions have produced excellent students with high morale. However, the assertion that maintaining an all-female status would be beneficial for Grove College, made by its president and administrative staff, is debatable. Although there may be benefits, the argument from the president and administrative staff requires more information in order to be properly evaluated. The argument rests on several assumptions and unanswered questions that may seriously undermine the argument's strength and validity.

Grove Colleg's president and administrative staff ignore the demands of their faculty members to admit men into its programs. Will doing so result cause faculty members to leave the institution, thereby damaging the quality of education that students receive? If faculty members feel that their voice does not matter within the institution, it is possible that they may choose to seek employment elsewhere. Losing instructors may increase class sizes, making the educational experience of students less personalized and thereby decreasing the morale among students. As such, the college must consider how the decision to retain its all-female status will impact faculty members who favour coeducation.

The argument of the president and administrative staff also relies on a survey in which 80 percent of students voted for the school to remain all-female. How many students actually completed this survey? This is an important question to consider, as it affects whether the sample of students who completd the survey is representative of all Grove College students. For example, if only eighty of eight thousand students completed the survey, then it is possible that the majority of students prefer coeducation. Furthermore, it is possible that students who completed the survey is biased in favour of keeping the college all-female. People are often more likely to complete a survey calling for a change that they believe in. As such, it is possible that only members of the student government who released the survey actually completed it because they are in favour of keeping Grove College's all-female status. Questions regarding the representativeness of the sample who completed the survey must be answered before sound conclusions can be drawn from its results.

The president and administrative staff also cited the preference of school alumnae to oppose coeducation as evidence in favour of keeping the college all-female. However, by relying on the opinions of alumnae who are likely of an older cohort with more traditional ideologies, perhaps the school is not considering the best interests of younger current and prospective students. What if an all-female school will no longer benefit new graduates when they enter a mixed-gender workforce? If school officials do not consider this question, then they are generalizing experiences of students across generations, which may not be a valid generalization. As such, the school should consider the needs and preferences of current and future students. Furthermore, the school suggests that alumnae will keep supporting the college financially if it remains its all-female admissions process. Will the financial support of alumnae outweigh the financial gains from more applications from male students? It is possible that in the process of trying to retain support from alumnae, Grove College misses out on potential funds that could come from more applications and enrolled students. As such, relying on alumnae's opinions and financial support may not be in the school's bests interests.

The recommendation to keep the all-females structure of Grove College leaves many unanswered questions regarding the president and administrative staff's methods of gathering data. Before any conclusions are drawn and a decision made, it is critical to fill in the gaps and ensure that the college's governing body has a holistic view of the school's situation.