“Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits.”

Discuss how logically convincing you find this argument. In your discussion, you should analyze the argument's line of reasoning and use of evidence. It may be appropriate in your critique to call into question certain assumptions underlying the argument and/or to indicate what evidence might weaken or strengthen the argument. It may also be appropriate to discuss how you would alter the argument to make it more convincing and/or discuss what additional evidence, if any, would aid in evaluating the argument.

The argument claims that Olympics Foods will be able to minimize costs and maximize profits because it has been in the business for 25 years. Stated in this way, the claim makes illogical conclusions, consists of poor reasoning, and fails to mention several key factors. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and unconvincing.

First, the argument assumes that standard for food processing the remained the same across 25 years. Clearly, as society moves forward, we have seen an increase in regulation and standards across the food industry. For example, what if the new standards set by the government require novel processes that are inefficient. While Olympic Foods may have become more efficient at their old processes, the new regulations will lead to longer times and higher costs that would reduce profits. The argument would be much clearer if the author provided information on how the processes used by Olympic Foods are still more of less the same as they were 25 years ago.

Second, the argument claims that there is a causal relationship between time and efficient, however, this could just be a correlation. A common underlying reason for this relationship is technological advances that lead to improved processes. If there have not been technological advances in the methods of processing food, then Olympic Foods will not be significantly more efficient than they were 25 years ago. If the argument provided evidence that Olympic Foods has successfully developed new more efficient methods to process good than the claim would hold more weight.

Finally, the argument draws a connection between increased efficiency and decreased costs. This conclusion is a stretch because improvements in efficiency require improved technology. What if the new technology equipment cost more to maintain and operating. This would increase the operating costs of Olympics Foods and therefore lead to decreased profits. Without more information on the cost structure of Olympic Foods, the conclusion of increased profits is more wishful thinking than a concrete outcome.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It would be considerably strengthened if the author provided more information regarding the methods and costs of food processing along with the trajectory of Olympic Food’s investments over the past 25 years. Without this information, the argument remains open to debate.