The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation by the president and administrative staff of Grove College states that based on a survey provided to students, faculty, and alumnae they will keep the college all female, rather than begin coeducation. Surveys are typically seen as a non-reliable source in research studies, for this survey to be valid three questions must be answered.

How many people responded to the survey, compared to the amount of people still admitted? This is by far the most important statistic. For instance, did only 20% of the class get the survey. Perhaps the students that where given the survey were picked by the school to ensure they would put the schools 'right' answer. For this survey to be valid it would need to be sent out to every student, with most if not all of the students responding. If the students that either did not get the survey, or didn't respond, actually responded then maybe the survey would actually show that the students would prefer coeducation. This requires further analysis.

Are the Alumnae recent graduates, or did they graduate greater than 10 years ago? In other words, do the believes of the Alumnae reflect the beliefs of the students today? If the Alumnae are not recent graduates, likely their beliefs would not reflect the ones of current students. The school should rather be focused on what would benefit their students getting proper education rather than convincing "alumnae to keep supporting the college financially." Perhaps funding would increase, if more students where admitted upon admitting students of both sexes. Or alumnae could see how starting coeducation could be beneficial for the students by increasing the diversity of the school.

Do the students and alumnae that responded to the survey properly understand the benefits of coeducation? Perhaps the people that responded to the survey are completely unaware of the benefits of coeducation. Maybe if the participants in the survey were aware of the benefits of coeducation, they would actually prefer coeducation. Before the survey is done, there must be a proper analysis of what happened to Universities that shifted to coeducation. This information would be necessary for a survey to make a proper judgment on whether or not they would want coeducation in this particular school.

As survey's are typically seen as unreliable information in the academic research environment, it is important for the school to answer the above questions appropriately.