The following statement appeared in a consumer magazine:

A fear of crime has led many homeowners to purchase monitored burglar alarm

systems, but these people are wasting their money. The primary benefit of any

burglar alarm system is one of deterrence, and this effect can be achieved just as well

by having a sign in front of the house suggesting that the house is equipped with an

alarm, whether or not the alarm system is monitored or even exists. Moreover, if a

sign fails to deter burglars from entering a house, there is very little chance that the

guards who monitor the alarm system will arrive at the home in time to catch the

burglars, since the burglars will surely leave as soon as the alarm sounds. Therefore,

while it makes sense to have a sign suggesting that a house has a monitored alarm,

and it may make sense to have an audible alarm, there is no reason to pay the high

monthly fee for a monitored system.

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion, be sure to

analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example,

you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and

what alternative examples or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You

can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument,

what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if

anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument claims that it is not beneficial for homeowners to pay the high montly fee for monitored burglar alarm systems just for deterrence of burglars. However, the author's argument has some flaws.

The first argument reveals that even without having any alarm system, if the house will be signed with any information suggesting that house is equiped with an alarm, it will deter burglars. This argument is not totally correct.Statistics shows that many crimes are made by the burglars who knew enough about the house that they are going to thief. Burglars are risking their freedom by making a crime, so they are not fool to break into he house without any information about that house, so if there is a misleading sign suggesting that house is equipped by te alarm, the burglar will probably know about it. These signs of course will not deter burglars from making a crime.

The second argument claims that there is a little chance for guards to arrive the house in time in order to catch the burglars. However, this argument also doesn't tell us the whole story. Even if the guards have a little chance for arriving in time, the monitors will save videos of the crime. So, at least the homeowner and guards will know who has made a crime. It will make cops work more easier to catch these burglars also the frightened burglars run away.

For my opinion, paying high monthly fee for monitored system does worth it because it will guarantee the homeowner's safety. The crime can damage person not only physically but also morally. So, it does't matter how expensive the safety systems cost because the only state of being hurt by the crime is worse.

In conclusion, the author's claims about the unnecessity of payig high cost for monitored systems are proved by unsufficient evidences. The above given examples can totally weaken those arguments.