The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising".

In this memo the advertising director of super screen movie production company claims that the reduction in the audience of its over the last year is a cause of lack of marketing. To support his claim, he gives evidence of the reviews of the same movie over the period. Close scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it leads little credibility, which render it unconviencing.

To begin with, the critics whos' review the director relies on are of a specificly well defined age domain. On the other hand the people viewing the movie are from as children to senior citizens. There tastes and preferanes are hard to be determined by just reviews. Declaring the quality on a movie by the reviewer seems to be very superficial. Only if the movie would have gotten bright and conviencing reviews from variety of age groups, proving it to be fit for everyone not just a handful of audience would have made the directors' claim substancial.

Secondly, the director lays his conclusion on the well going of his production on a span of just one year. Basing a judgement after just one year proves the call to be very naive and foolish. Movie are a fickle concept, the have to be given adequate time before reaching to a conclusion. It could be possible that that year the market for the movies produced by Super Screen Movies wasn't affected by marketting but the genres it was targetting. Had the director mentioned that other movies of similar type did better than his movies there would have been logical comparism between the two. Due to the lack of substantial comparism the claim made after a period of just a year seems a idiotic move.

Finally, there is no solid garentee that a better publicity of its movies will boast its ticket sales in the future. There has to be credible source that connect this two or a reliably well defined relation between the same. This argument is like comparing appes with oranges. Had there been some illustration explaining that marketing a movie with higher budget leads to definite increase in its sales this argument would have been reliable and believable.