The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The speakers claims that the quality of cooperation succeeds competition when it comes to leadership in various fields like government, industry, etc. On the other hand competition makes a person bring out his/her best in order to defeat the others. I strongly agree with the author's assertion. My proclivity about the same has been proved with relevant examples in the ensuing paagraphs.

First of all, if we consider a government organisation trying to deal with a specific problem with the help of a hypothetical team of 20 people. The more the cooperation is the more is the syncing between all the brains at work. There would be 20 different brains at same work rather than 20 different brains trying to crush each other in order to be the best. For example the same team can come up with 20 ways to deal with a specific problem by thinking about one problem each, rather than one person trying to crack it all by himself. This makes cooperation a effective as well as a time saving technique for a group.

Secondly, there are many industries and organisations which deal with people and work for various domains and sectors. There is a constant need of integration between these various fields. Cooperation between people from various domains is the only tool that could serve this very purpose elminting the barriers hindering the progress. Managers and team leaders leading the project are burdened with the smooth running of the same which cooperation a key quality in there arsenal.

On the contrary, some people might say that competition brings the best out of an individual under all circumstances. The constant eager to be the best at everything thrown at your way is only awakened by the jist of being the last person standing. For example if everyone in a 100m sprint is given the first price the there will be no motivation for anyone to perform better. This might lead the worlds' progress rate to come to a standstill and no innovations might take place. Moreover, competition between people makes the bar or excellence go higher and higher and thus leading to constant improvement in every field possible.

In a nutshell, I would to sum up that the optimal characteristic that must be instilled in the society's youth to be better leaders for the future should be cooperation not competition.