The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what question would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

For any kind of recommendation, especially when it involves budget allocation, it is always best to include factual evidence to support one’s case. Some important questions to receive this kind of information would be the number of viewers of Super Screen-produced movies each year ever since the company has been producing movies (this is normally done via ticket sales). Another question is to track how many reviews have been created each year and classify them by positive, negative, and neutral. If it is possible to connect movie viewers to ticket sales, an actual trend can be used as strong proof for the director’s argument.

Even though the director’s statement about the movies being, ‘of good quality…’, is purely subjective (he may feel that way but past viewers may not feel the same), we can assume that this statement is actually true. If so, it is important to ask what type of movies viewers are interested in seeing. Something like this can be collected by tracking what type of movies viewers have been going to in the past along with the type of movies viewers have seen in the past year, especially for ones that received positive reviews.

The possible explanation for the trend the director has seen in the past year could be to the company attracting a niche audience, especially there have been any significant changes that have been made to the movies in the past year compared to other ones. Has the company produced movies from a variety of genres but have focused on only a few genres? If this is the case, what may have happened in the past is the movies were creditable but not worthy of receiving positive reviews but the recent movies have focused on one or two genres and they have been of much higher quality, but they are not of interest to the general population. For example, the company may have produced documentary-style films the past year that have been really informative and could win several accolades but if the general population finds documentaries to be boring, they will be less inclined to go see the movies. Another factors to consider would be if the company used to cast A-list celebrities that would drive viewers and began to only cast new-coming actors. Even if the quality of acting is just as good or even better for the newcomers, people still may not be inclined to see the movies but the niche audience may not place as much value on who stars in the films but the quality of the acting or just the film itself.

To counteract the argument that the public lacks awareness of the film, it will be beneficial to see it the number of total reviews has changed this past year compared to the other ones. This can be much greater indicator on whether advertising is an issue. If the number of reviews is about the same, then it is best to decide that this recommendation is not reasonable and an explanation for the results shown that the recent movies are not of interest to the general public but instead to a niche audience that appreciates the direction the company has gone with its films.