The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instill in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

While both concepts have been used to improved society, cooperation is the best alternative to instill for young people to have the best preparation for leadership, regardless of what field they decide to pursue. While only one or the other will lead to an imbalance that will do more harm than good, it is important for society to place greater emphasis on cooperation.

For leadership, cooperation is important simply involves working with other people. Whether those people are your peers, people above or below, collaboration and strong communication skills will be needed in order to reach a goal. For example, a manager was asked by his boss to give a report on quarterly earnings from the past three years. He may have his subordinate run the report but he will have to make sure the data he received is actually correct. This will be done by communicating with the accounting department to make sure the information is correct and if there are any caveats that need to be known. He would communicate with his direct report to make sure she understands the assignment and assist her if she runs into any obstacles. Once the report is completed, he would report back to his boss to explain the earnings in a way that is objective but also easily understood.

Feeding back on the example provided, the manager needs to cooperate effectively in order for the people he works with to be satisfied with his work products. Anyone in a leadership position has to be able to get the approval from those above him in order to receive rewards like accolades, promotions or bonuses and those below him to receive high retention and effort into producing high quality work.

When cooperating with others, people in leadership are always learning new things. Whether they’re learning new ways to manage processes, how to keep people happy, or some facts from a report they requested, they are learning to become more a well-rounded, and possibly better, leader. Also, working with others allow leaders to continue building their network. This can be beneficial when there is certain information that leaders need that they may not have access or authority to.

The reason young people should be instilled to embrace competition because people in leadership are in the minority since there are only so many leadership positions available. That means people who wish to pursue those kind of roles must be able to make themselves stand out from people who want the same type of role. Plus with healthy competition innovation can begin to spark, which can potentially lead to an advancement in things such as technology. For example, leadership in two rival companies can be competing against one another to see who can create the most user friendly car, leading to a huge increase in profits as a reward. Both companies can find out what expertise or materials their opponents lack and use improve in that sense, eventually creating the most user friendly car. In this case, the winning company will receive the bonus in profits while also offering an effective option for everyone else in society. This could lead to benefits like reducing the risk of accidents and make driver’s education unnecessary.

As previously stated, cooperation and competition have been used for society to continue improving. However, it is best to have young people in leadership who value cooperation more than competition.