The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director endorses to allocate greater share of the company's budget in advertising to the public to make them aware of the postive reviews. But the decision appears to be taken hastily without considering few key aspects.We need to proceed stepwise in a bottom-up approach before taking a decision.

Firstly, we need to confirm the root cause of the issue. Does the content of the movie resonate with the public? Many a time, a movie that is well made and is compelling might not belong to the genre that a large section of the public is interested in watching. It might appeal only to a few niche sections of the public. If that is the case then the budget of the company must be diverted to making movies that resonate with larger section of the public.

Secondly,we need to find out how much of an impact our post production advertising activities is having in creating a sense of anticipation among the public for the movie? If we are not able to heighten the anticipation for the movie from our post production advertising activities, we might have to rethink our current approach before requesting for greater allocation of budget. We can also take a cue from the post-production activities of companies that are making popular movies in developing new strategy.

Lastly, we need to find out Who is reviewing our movies and what is their outreach to the public? If the reviewers belong to a reputable agency that is well followed by large section of the public, then additional expenditure by our company in advertising the movie and the reviews is not going to increase the viewership by much. In the scenario that the review agency does not have a great outreach to the public,we need to ensure that the reviewers are not average Joe's whose positive word of mouth does not amount to much credibilty in the public's eye before citing these reviews in the advertising campaign.